Art on the Metro

On the way downtown this morning I looked around my metro car. Advertisements were plastered all around, luring you to buy into this new residential community downtown, or to hop on the new Silver Line route that just opened to “explore destinations unknown” (which kinda sounds scary!).

Where’s the art around here? I thought. And then I looked closer at the typography of the advertisement for the ‘urban living’ apartments. With double neon lined typescript and vintage photographs of the building’s doorways, gardens, and what looks to be a Manhattan on the bar of the rooftop, I realized there’s art in this frighteningly cramped plastic-seated metro car.

And so I’m actually looking forward to my commute tomorrow. And I might just take that Silver Line to the middle of nowhere –I might find a gem or two on the way.

Leave a Reply

