Art Hotels: Fashion or Function?

The Colombe D'Or in St Paul de Vence

Alexander Calder’s surreal poolside mobile at the Colombe d’Or, Provence.

Ever stayed in an art hotel? I haven’t actively sought them out, and even if I did it’s not likely I could afford them anyway. But I guess that depends on the definition of an “art hotel” because would you consider an art hotel one that harbored art of not-so-prominent artists? Technically it is an art hotel.

The above pic  from an article in the UK’s Guardian gives me anxiety. Who wants to sunbathe under THAT? While it’s cool and everything, when I’m in the sun, I’m in the sun, and I can’t imagine that hovering over me when I’m enjoying a cocktail (can you even see the person sitting next to you?) or trying to get some rays (casts too many shadows). And what about the colors? While the whole idea of the mobile sounds light and airy and appropriate for your mood at the pool, the colors are kind of dark. Perhaps the lines should be more sinuous, like your idea of a lazy afternoon at the pool.

I do love this concept of essentially sleeping in a gallery. But how about adding some functional art into the mix? A piece of art on which you can rest your cocktail?

Here’s an interesting book written by the Curatorial Director of Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in NY, that details the domestic furniture, lighting, and design objects of Minimalist and Post-Minimalist artists from the 1960s to the present. Features work by Donald Judd, Sol LeWitt, Dan Flavin, Scott Burton, Robert Rauschenberg, John Baldessari, Rachel Whiteread, Richard Tuttle, and Isamo Noguchi.

Now that’s something that somebody could rest a cocktail on.

Leave a Reply

